“I had a dream” — Does dreaming have anything to do with education?

In my dream, I was in a courtroom. Ten judges were there. I think they were six men and four women. Dressed in black, or seemed as if they were.

Somehow the charge was to do with something I said, I was sure that, yes, what I had said was wrong, but nowhere near as wrong as the judges seemed say. My words had been overheard. But what they meant sounded far worse. They were out of context. I stood to lose everything in this trial.

But some of the judges believed exactly the same thing. They had said it before, too!

Was I ever upset.

I couldn’t believe it.

I had another dream.

In my dream, I was in a corridor painted stark white. Doors faced onto this corridor. Behind the doors was warmth, love, light, hope, acceptance.

But I could not get in past any closed door.

I was shut out.

I awoke from this dream, which seemed like my real life, and gave my life to Christ.

That dream was in February, 1984.

Other people are having dreams.

Muslims in the Middle East are having dreams.

Isa, from the Qu’ran, is appearing to them, dressed in white.

They recognize Jesus, and in Iraq, Syria, Saudi, they start believing in him and following him.

A-ma-zing.

So, dreams are powerful.

Not necessarily are they positive experiences.

Dreams can articulate secret fears, or resentments.

They also tell of hopes. Desires.

Can any education that does nothing with dreams go anywhere?

Can any education that does not deal with the secret desires of the heart go anywhere?

Said Augustine the saint, who is always getting quoted on this topic:

“Our hearts are restless until they find their rest in you.”

He did not say:

“Our minds are restless until they find their perfect solution in you.”

As true as that is, and not to be dismissed, he did not say it.

Human beings are thinkers.

They cannot believe what is incredible to them. (Yes, that’s a tautology, and a dumb sounding saying.)

But sometimes people say about Christian beliefs, I just have to believe that (though no one else does and it seems impossible).

That’s not Christianity.

That’s parking your brain at the door.

Christianity makes sense of the world that we live in, and if not, we should all abandon it.

But on the other hand, people like me who live in their heads should not make the mistake of imagining that purely intellectualizing education will convince anybody.

Unless:

There’s a dream in it.

Unless:

It speaks to deep desires.

Unless:

It is about hope.

Standard

Leave a Reply

